Not Only The Month For Love

Oh, February the month of Love. I have to be honest, I have never really celebrated Valentine’s Day. I think it all goes back to Jr. High when I would be sitting at my desk hearing all the names over the loud-speaker who have flowers, balloons, or teddy bears holding hearts down in the office. I never heard my name…not once. I don’t know why, I was obviously a fox. My braces always matched my outfit. Anyway, when I got a little older and had the opportunity to celebrate the holiday of LOVE, I decided to forgo it to celebrate the Chinese New Year instead. It has become one of my favorite holidays to celebrate. The Chinese do things like clean their house, pay off debts, get new haircuts and purchasing new clothes for the New Year. I usually just wear red and go to PF Changs. We all have our own traditions.

Below are more holidays to discover and celebrate.

February 1: National Freedom day

This day is a day to celebrate freedom. The roots of the holiday are associated with the end of slavery and the signing of the 13th amendment.

February 2: Groundhog’s Day

Maybe this year is finally the year to make a trip to Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania for the annual Groundhog’s day celebration. Phil sees his shadow 9 out of 10 times which means six more weeks of winter according to the legend.

February 3: That Day The Music Died

This day recognizes the untimely deaths of Richie Valens, Buddy Holly and The Big Bopper who all died in a plane crash this day in 1959.

February 3: Chinese New Year

The Chinese New Year begins on this day and lasts 15 days. The 15th day is called That Lantern Festival which is celebrated by a lantern display and kids carrying lanterns in a parade.

February 4: Thank a Mailman or woman Day

They deliver our mail rain or shine. The least we could do is say “thank you”.

February 5: Weatherman’s Day

Honor your weatherman today!

February 7: Wave With All Your Fingers At A Neighbor Day

This day is to do just what is says. Wave at your neighbor today but be sure to ten finger it!

February 7: Send A Card To A Friend Day

February 8: Boy Scout Day

Boy Scouts were founded on this day in 1910!

February 9: Toothache Day

I was unable to find out much about this day but I could only imagine brushing and flossing would be an appropriate way to celebrate.

February 10: Umbrella Day

Celebrate the invention of the umbrella.

February 11: Don’t Cry Over Spilled Milk Day

This is a day to look on the bright side and maybe realize that our “big deals” really aren’t big deals in the larger  scheme of things.

February 11: Make A Friend Day

Facebook has made this easy. It can be accomplished in one click.

February 12: Plum Pudding Day

Never made (or even tasted) Plum Pudding? Get to it!  http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Superb-English-Plum-Pudding-20010

February 13: Get a Different Name Day

If you don’t like your name this is the perfect day to legally change it.

February 14 has many holidays but I think the most popular is Clean Out Your Computer Day

Time to empty out your inbox. It will feel good. Promise.

February 15: Singles Awareness Day 

This is a day for singles to get together and mingle.

February 16: Do a Grouch a Favor Day

This is a day to cheer up someone who is temporarily grouchy or someone who is always a bit grouchy. my favorite way to cheer up people is to bring them Starbucks. I assume since it always makes my day that it will make someone else’s day too.

February 17:  Random Acts of Kindness Day

Maybe it’s time to surprise someone with Starbucks. Is there any other way to cheer someone up?

February 18: National Battery Day

Time to celebrate the invention of the battery! Maybe I will celebrate by finally putting batteries in my smoke detector in my hallway.

February 19: National Chocolate Mint Day

February 20: Hoodie Hoo Day

This is a day when people go out at noon, wave their hands in the air and shout, “Hoodie Hoo”! Quite possibly the best holiday yet. Apparently doing this will chase away winter.

February 21: President’s Day

It is time to say. “Thank you Abe and George!”

February 22: Be Humble Day

February 23: International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day

February 24:National Tortilla Chip Day

This is a day I can get behind!

February 26: Carnival Day

The best way to celebrate this day is to go to a carnival..if you can find one in the dead of winter.

February 26: Tell a Fairy Tale Day

February 27: Polar Bear Day

Did you know polar bears can be up to nine feet tall and 1400 pounds?

February 27: No Brainer Day

This is a day for you to do only what requires little to no brain activity. Stare at a wall, blink, and growing hair are all good options for this day.

February 28: Public Sleeping Day

We all know someone who thinks everyday is public sleeping day but on this day it is time to join in on the fun.

February 28: National Tooth Fairy Day (also August 22)

Time to celebrate the lovable fairy who  manages to get the tooth out from under your pillow and leave money. I remember the day that I found out the tooth fairy was not real. I found a $5 bill under my pillow and when I showed my Dad what the Tooth Fairy had left me, he grabbed the $5  bill and said, “Oh she made a mistake” and then handed me a dollar. Oh, little girl dreams and an imagination, who needs them!

January 26, 2011. Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Erin replied:

    What’s with your random celebration day posts?!? 😉

  2. NC replied:

    “This is a day to cheer up someone who is temporarily grouchy or someone who is always a bit grouchy.”

    What about someone who is terminally grouchy? 🙂

  3. Dad replied:

    I seem to have forgotten the tooth story.

    • My Life With Freckles replied:

      It’s true Dad. It was in Ironton and it happened by the door where all of our heights were marked. It’s okay. I already had a feeling.

  4. Devin replied:

    I love reading your blog! So many holidays I have never heard of before.. hmmm maybe I will pick one (or a few) to celebrate this year!

    • My Life With Freckles replied:

      Thanks Devin. It’s kind of fun to have something to celebrate even if it is just tortilla chips.

  5. Jenna replied:

    Chocolate mint day is also my birthday! Usually I have to share with the presidents… Also, I demand to celelbrate the 23th, 24th, and 26th with you and Gwynnie. Done.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI