What Your Fingernails Say About You

There are many types of people in this world and many different ways to discover what type of person someone really is. You can look through their iTunes, Netflix views, glance at their bookshelf or around their house to see what is important enough for them to display. In the dating world this is very important. I know if a guy has a display case in his house of Star Wars action figures, he is not for me. However, if a guy can play Saved By The Bell trivia with me, he is worth getting to know. One way that opens the door into what type of person someone is would be their fingernails.

Women:

The Miss America (Acrylic) : This woman cares about how she looks. She is either a professional, a make-up artist, or going to prom. This woman wants you to notice that she is well put together. The acrylic nail looks nice but takes a lot of maintenance. This woman is signing a contract that says I will be back to refill my nails every two weeks or suffer through the pain of soaking them in nail polish remover for hours and then ripping them off along with my own real nail.  The Acrylic woman is making a life choice.

The Bejeweled Acrylic: This woman like The Miss America woman is making a life choice but she has a different message. The Bejeweled Acrylic wants the world to know she is rolling in the bucks because she has a diamond stud in her nails (and possibly in her teeth).

The  Sensible Nail (Painted Natural): This woman is more practical. She is not going to pay for something that she can do herself. She still wants people to see that she is well put together but she puts in the time and does it herself.

The Worker (Short Natural): This woman doesn’t care what other people think of her nails. She cuts them short because she thinks long nails get in her way. She will have to rub her back against a post to scratch it but she doesn’t care.

The Worrier (Biter): This woman is nervous or has developed a bad habit. She bites her nails when she is thinking, worrying or just to get the rest of them even with the nail she just broke.

Men:

The Teen Wolf (long nails): There are three types of The Teen Wolf:

1.) The Musician: The Musician Teen Wolf keeps his nails long to better play the guitar or any

instrument involving strings.

2.) The Absent Minded: This man has no idea what his nails look like. He hasn’t looked at them in weeks.

3.) The Serial Killer: I have never come in contact with a serial killer (that I know of) but in my mind they have unkempt nails. Interesting side note: There was a serial killer called the “Manicure Murderer” who would clip his victim’s nails and send them to family members. He was very upset by his nickname and was made fun of in the serial killer community.

The Rowland (manicured nails): I named this one after my Uncle Rowland who has the most beautiful pedicured toes I have ever seen on a man. The Rowland cares about the way he looks. He wants to look put together. He also enjoys being pampered once in a while.

The I’m in a Punk Rock Band( painted black nails): This man wants his nails to stand out. He wants his black nails to match the rest of his outfit and his hair. He wants to stand outside of the box that says only girls can wear nail polish but wants to sit comfortably inside the box that says you have black nails if you are a punk rocker.

The Druggy (one long nail): His long nail is used as a utensil.

The Scott Howard (clean and clipped): The Scott Howard keeps his nails clean and clipped because he likes the way they look and feel.

The Worrier (Biter):This man just like the woman biter is nervous or has developed a bad habit.

The Guinness (ridiculously long nails): This woman or man grow out their nails for one reason; to be in the Guinness Book of World Records. This honor currently goes to Lee Redmond who hasn’t cut her nails since 1979. I’m guessing she doesn’t wear contacts.

Like all personality types, not all fingernails are a good match. The Scott Howard is the most compatible with all the  women’s nails. It’s best to stay away from the The Serial Killer Teen Wolf and The Druggy.

September 26, 2010. My Way of Thinking.

2 Comments

  1. Molly replied:

    It’s so true. As you know, I’ve never cared about my nails, so I’m not sure where I fit, but I do agree that nails do say a lot about someone.

    You’re hands are beautiful, ya know…but you already knew that:).

  2. My Life With Freckles replied:

    I clip mine off. Nails get on my nerves. My hands resemble that of a small boys.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI